The Acrobat who wouldn’t keep still

…And more people who won’t hold a pose. A treat in the studio when we were entertained by an acrobat one afternoon. He lifted and held his weight rigidly over posts, did cartwheels on the floor, and rolled around the  floor -tucking in and untucking, and stretching his limbs. For a while I tried to catch multiple movements on one sheet of paper. By the end of the session I was drawing at a largish scale in fluid, confident lines, in a minimal style quite new to me. So loose and fast and different to my normal style that these last ones are my favourite, only a shame they’re drawn on newsprint so I must find a way of preserving them before they fall apart! I didn’t know I had this kind of fluidity in me so I’d be grateful for comments on where I could take it next!

