Magnificent flying machines

I carry a mini 10 x 15 cm (about 2/3 of what it looks like on-screen) sketchbook with me at all times. Of course it restricts how much detail can be put down on a page, but on the other hand means I can fit a huge amount onto a page in a short space of time. I’ve been struggling with a large drawing of the complicated Imperial War Museum, so taking it back to this scale is a great way to re-connect with the essentials of the space and think about composition without committing to a large drawing. Here I’ve taken on roughly the same angle across the room, but stationed either above or below the WWI Sopwith Camel 2FI. The planes featured are the same, but there’s a dramatic difference to their soaring overhead, or from above: they look more like they’re engaged in a dog fight.

