Just another night in London

January blues can be hard to shake when you have to return to work, and then trudge home, under London’s dark winter skies. But now back at the school, I’d been looking forward to starting night drawing again (see October’s efforts here), and last night headed out with around twenty art students, wrapped up in thick coats, hats and gloves, to take on the streets of Spitalfields and around Bishopsgate and Liverpool Street Station (I hate such towers, but oh my are they fun to draw at night). The city was calm, the skies beautifully clear, the rain had held off. Perfect. I came back smudged with charcoal pencil and ink (trying out new brush pen method) all over my hands and face, having sipped half a hip flask to keep out the chill. But I’m pleased with the results, especially this last Christ Church picture, so different to the couple I drew a few months ago.

