Group Show: The New & Old East London Group at the Town House

It’s rather appropriate that my long overdue post revisits the last. Summer was a busy whirlwind of relocating and changing jobs, and it has taken me a long time to settle back into the suburbs of west London and get used to a new routine, so my apologies and thanks to those kind enough to email me and check that I am still alive, and drawing! I am now enjoying working as an Art Teacher in a secondary school which has taken over a significant part of my life, but the energy of a busy classroom and managing excited teenagers is becoming the perfect balance to the more lonely life of making art for myself. I have more news of drawings and an interesting commission to come, but for now I am very pleased to share details of a group show opening this week. You will recognise the ‘Mudlark’ etching as a collated study of my many sketches of a mudlark, as featured in my last post. It was quite a random print to make, but I liked the idea of combining he many but small movements on the Thames beach onto one plate, as if covering every move, buzz of the detector, and potential find within a few metres. The pipes are a study of my own finds on the shore and an attempt to record the stains and worn edges that the river has bestow on manmade crisp white clay.

Image-20 Mudlarks-Joanna-Moore

The Mudlark and his Dog (Etching with aquatint, edition of 25)
ThamesPipes40x22PencilWatercolourSM
 
Thames Pipes (Pencil with Watercolour)TowerBridge30x40MonoprintSMTower Bridge (Monoprint)

NOW & THEN, an exhibition of the New & Old East London Groups, opens on 6:30pm Thursday 28th November at Town House, Fournier St, Spitalfields, E1. The show runs until 8th December. Weekdays 11-6pm & Weekends 11-5pm.

Next week, paintings by members of The East London Group are to be hung on public display in the East End for the first time in over a generation as part of an exhibition at Town House in Spitalfields that opens on Thursday 28th November. In the show, living artists exploring the urban environment today – Anthony Eyton, Peta Bridle, Nicholas Borden, Marc Gooderham, Sebastian Harding and Joanna Moore – are exhibited alongside the work of their predecessors as a tribute to the original East End London Group. You can read the full article about the original East London Group, and further details about the show, at Spitalfields Life.